Of Note

A Dizzying Journey Through Textures and Rhythms
Canzonas AmericanasDerek Bermel's four movement orchestral work "Canzonas Americanas" is a dizzying adventure through a collage of textures and rhythms. Hear its entirety performed by Alarm Will Sound conducted by Alan Pierson on Monday's program.
Celebrating Natural Majesty Through Music
Grand CanyonCatch American composer Ferde Grofe's homage to the natural splendor of the Grand Canyon in Friday's program. His sweeping orchestral work "Grand Canyon Suite," premiered in 1931 celebrates one of the United States's natural wonders.
A Lush and Colorful Harp Concerto from Villa Lobos
Villa Lobos HarpTune in to Thursday's show for a lush and exuberant harp concerto from Heitor Villa-Lobos from Catherine Michel and the Orchestre National de L'Opera de Monte-Carlo led by Antonio de Almeida.
Berlioz's Triptych Mediation of Death
BerliozBerlioz composed a triptych as a meditation on death in Tristia, op. 18. Tune in to Wednesday's program for a performance of this exploration by the Cleveland Orchestra and Chorus led by Pierre Boulez.
Stripped Down Mozart
Nagano MozartPianist Karin Kei Nagano pairs up with the Cecilia String Quartet to present stripped down Mozart piano concertos. Essence is distilled with a quartet treatment rather than full orchestration. Tune in Tuesday for the entirety of his Piano Concerto in A major, k. 414, an homage to J. C. Bach.